ApexmedApexmedApexmedApexmedApexmedApexmedApexmedApexmedApexmedApexmed
S
O
S

EMERGENCY

A sudden onset of neurological incidence might indicate a neurological emergency. Therefore we strongly recommend visiting the emergency room of the nearest hospital.

Phone number: 144

Only in a hospital the neccessary diagnostics – especially concerning imaging – are available.

Do not lose time, because: „Time is brain!“

Another recommendation: Always take a list with yourself with essential medical information:
–  Previous diseases
–  Medication
–  Allergies

It helps saving time!

Videos

FROM A TO Z

Procedure at the doctor:

… actually obvious … but sometimes full of misunderstandings? In order to create clarity here, this article has been included. It provides information about the successive steps to be taken by the doctor – comparable to the steps on a staircase …

Structure of the nervous system:

The upright walk:

The article offers a look back at the evolution and the formation of living beings including their modes of locomotion: without legs in water (fish), without legs on land (snake), with 4 legs on land (lizard), with 2 legs on land (humans) . This requires adjustments in terms of balance and supporting skeleton as well as ensuring a free leg.

Thunderclap Headache:

The article deals with the EMERGENCY “thunderbolt headache”, which must be regarded as an indication of a certain cerebral haemorrhage, a so-called “subarachnoid haemorrhage” (SAB) until proven otherwise. The spectrum of complaints can be very different: from “only” severe headaches to coma !!! Rapid contact with an emergency room is therefore necessary, where the appropriate diagnostics will be carried out using head imaging, nerve fluid sampling and, if necessary, angiography. The cause is often a vascular weak point, a so-called “aneurysm”, which should be treated accordingly over time. The video also briefly outlines various types of aneurysms and their treatment options (clipping, coiling, stenting).

Gait disorders:

The series gait disorders – divided into 3 parts – playfully discusses various disorders in walking, including: waddling gait, restraint limping, Parkinson’s gait, stepping gait, “iron gait”, scissor gait, atactic gait disorder, choral gait disorder, psychogenic gait disorder, “intermittent disease”, spinal tightness, and the unsafe walk.

Immune system – “The little 1×1”:

This post is intended to provide a simple overview of this complex topic. It contains understandably characteristic components of the cellular and humoral defense as well as the unspecific and specific immune system; these include: phagocytes, the complement system, antigen presenting cells (APC), T and B lymphocytes and antibodies.

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome:

A common cause of “tingling in the hands” is carpal tunnel syndrome, or CTS. According to the literal translation of the Latin name, it is “nocturnal tingling arm pain”. The article explains the cause, phases of the disease, diagnostics and therapeutic options for a CTS.

Headache:

Basic components of headache treatment are medical history, neurological examination, and often head imaging as well. Different types of headache are classified (with mostly inconspicuous findings in the examination and imaging) based on so-called “diagnostic criteria”. You can also “get to know” your own headaches better by keeping a headache calendar and individually helpful measures can be more easily recognized. The headache therapy has – generally speaking – 3 pillars (acute-drug, prophylactic-drug, non-drug), whereby it is advisable to exhaust the “non-drug measures” as much as possible. In addition, the clinical picture of “drug overuse headache” is worth knowing and part of the article.

Tingling in the feet:

The article gives an overview of the components that can lead to tingling in the feet. Then neurological causes are broken down.

Tingling in the hands:

The article gives an overview of the components that can lead to tingling in the hands. Then neurological causes are broken down.

Positional vertigo:

In the article “Positional vertigo” (in detail: “benign paroxysmal positional vertigo, BPLS”) the “equilibrium part” of the vestibulo-cochlear organ is explained in more detail on the basis of this very common problem. The occurrence of a brief spinning vertigo attack after turning over in bed is particularly characteristic of BPLS, in which 95% of the posterior semicircular canal is affected. BPLS is caused by otoliths that have become jammed together, such a conglomerate exerting a very great stimulus on the sensory hairs and leading to dizziness. Finally, the therapy using positioning exercises is shown and explained in the article.

Meralgia paraesthetica:

… is a complicated name for complaints of a pinched cutaneous nerve in the area of the lateral pelvic / inguinal ligament region. There may be discomfort in the area of the lateral thigh. The subject is harmless and has a very good prognosis.

Migraine:

The “prototype” of a migraine with the associated diagnostic criteria for migraine HEADACHE and for a migraine AURA is communicated. In addition, classification, “types of play”, options for action (such as keeping a headache calendar) and therapeutic approaches are addressed.

Movember:

“Movember” is one of the most successful health prevention campaigns, in which men grow a mustache in the month of November. This video shows where “Movember” comes from, what the exact purpose is and what my access to it was and how I deal with it today. The video was recorded in November 2020.

Neck pain:

Consultation with a neurologist is advisable for neck pain radiating to the arm. This clarifies by means of anamnesis and neurological examination whether a so-called radiculopathy is present. Of course, a video cannot replace a visit to the doctor.

Neural plasticity:

The contribution was given as part of the DGN Congress 2016 in Mannheim. He clearly explains how “neuronal plasticity” occurs through the simultaneous activity of nerve cells. This can be seen in changes on different levels, such as in the behavior of a living being (see Pavlov), in “remodeling processes” or in the regulation of nerve cells (see Kandel). I dealt with the topic as part of my scientific doctoral thesis and here I summarize the conclusions I have drawn and their application to life.

Optical phenomena:

The article gives an overview of various optical phenomena, including: shadow play, reflections, unreal objects, picture puzzles, pictures from the “Magic Eye” series, flicker contrasts and the Fraser spiral.

Parkinson’s 1:

The first Parkinson’s article deals with the classic cause and symptoms of the Parkinson’s spectrum. The core symptoms of the so-called “shaking paralysis” are tremor (shaking), rigor (rigidity), akinesia (lack of movement) and postural instability. Other features are mentioned in the article, such as ointment face, Oreiller psychique, impairment of fine motor skills, reduced font size, reduced smell and taste and a tendency to constipation.

Parkinson’s 2:

The second Parkinson’s article deals with the diagnosis. In addition to anamnesis and neurological examination, a simple CT scan of the head and a blood sample can be taken to rule out Wilson’s disease. A treatment attempt with Madopar is not uncommon. There are some early symptoms, but the transition to Parkinson’s disease is not certain, so this circumstance is communicated with caution to avoid unnecessary worries. Further diagnostics also include the DaT-SPECT examination and brain parenchymal sonography.

Parkinson’s 3:

The third Parkinson’s article is about the therapy. On the one hand, this includes drug therapy, whereby the so-called “gold standard” L-DOPA + benserazide (Madopar) is primarily discussed. On the other hand, other tips and tricks are mentioned that can also contribute to alleviating symptoms: drinking enough, physiotherapy (flexibility, balance training), independent movement, rhythmic music, speech therapy, optimizing sleep, checks … and as simply as possible feeling good.

Polyneuropathy:

The common clinical picture “polyneuropathy” – often described as “walking on the clouds” – is damage to several peripheral nerves through a systemic process (or several). There are around 500 different causes for this, whereby recognizing the respective cause (s) makes sense. The two parts are devoted to the spectrum of complaints, diagnostics, research into the causes and the various treatment options.

Restless legs syndrome:

The article describes the main criteria of RLS and how it is differentiated from polyneuropathy, which is also common.

back pain:

“Back pain” is very common and can occur for a variety of reasons: vertebral body fractures, joint pathologies, problems with the intervertebral discs, etc. The structure of an intervertebral disc is explained and the terms prolapse and prutrusio are distinguished from one another. Furthermore, diagnostic components are outlined: anamnesis, neurological examination, imaging … and also therapeutic options: pain and physiotherapy (“The dynamic duo”), possibly local infiltration or possibly surgery.

Sleep chronology:

We spend an unproblematic night together or prepare for it. The contribution includes topics such as: yawning, rest ritual, tips for falling asleep, the correct sleeping temperature and position, change of position, deep sleep, the tendency to wake up, the “hour of the wolf”, morning dreams and … getting up.

Sleep facts:

The article “Sleep Facts” provides various insights such as the “discovery” of the internal clock, regulatory mechanisms in sleep and the various sleep stages in the EEG. In addition, various sleep strategies in the animal kingdom and cultural differences in sleep are presented.

Sleep problems:

We are going through a problematic night together 🙁 … The article includes various sleep disorders such as: polyneuropathy (PNP), restless legs syndrome (RLS), depression, snoring, jet lag, sleepwalking, nocturnal urination, nightmares, Parkinson’s disease, narcolepsy, pain and carpal tunnel syndrome (CTS ), although there are more detailed special articles on some topics.

Dizziness:

This article gives an exemplary overview of the complex topic. In its two parts, different possible causes of dizziness are dealt with, including: Circulatory system & blood circulation, brain damage, topic VIII. Cranial nerve, ear, eye, gait unsteadiness, psyche, older age, mix of different components and vestibular migraine.

Visual disturbances:

Using various disturbed visual impressions, necessary functions / structures on the “way to the image” are playfully worked out. These visual disorders / topics include: black image, flickering, jagged, soot rain & Co, double images, blurred vision, sometimes black image, glaucoma, dry eyes and hallucinations.

Tension headache:

The “prototype” of tension headaches with the associated diagnostic criteria is presented in the article. In addition, classification, causes, options for action (such as keeping a headache calendar) and therapeutic approaches are addressed.

Spinal tightness – cervical:

The article “Spinale Tightening – cervical” describes symptoms, diagnostics and treatment options for such a situation. In contrast to “Spinale Enge – lumbar” the spinal cord can still be damaged at the cervical level.

Spinal tightness – lumbar:

The article “Spinal narrowing – lumbar” describes symptoms, diagnostics and treatment options for such a situation. In contrast to “Spinal narrowing – cervical”, no spinal cord is damaged at the lumbar level below L2. A narrowing at this level only affects the exiting nerve roots of the so-called “cauda equina” (= horse’s tail).

Sulcus ulnaris syndrome:

In the ulnar sulcus syndrome, the ulnar nerve in the so-called “ulnar groove” on the elbow is irritated or even damaged. Diagnostics and therapy are discussed in the video, which cannot replace a specialist co-assessment.

Forgetfulness:

The fear of dementia is very widespread from a certain age and is usually triggered by forgetfulness in everyday life. The video describes alternative reasons for forgetfulness, such as depression (= pseudodementia), as well as clinical differences in the various cerebral damage patterns (cortical vs. subcortical damage). The diagnosis of dementia is a specialist assessment with the help of additional diagnostics. In the article, the essential diagnostic components, consisting of anamnesis, external anamnesis, neuropsychological testing and head imaging as well as the current status of therapy options for dementia are explained. In the context of diagnostics, an unfounded concern can sometimes be eliminated or alternative diseases can be revealed, which may be easily treatable. My personal assessment of how to deal with the onset of dementia symptoms in retirement age round off the lecture. Of course, a video cannot replace a visit to the doctor and individual advice.

APEXMED ®
Telefon: +43-662-634 634
Fax: +43-662-634 634-4
E-Mail: info@apexmed.at
Ordinationszeiten

09 - 15 h


Alternative Termine möglich.Telefonische Vereinbarung notwendig.

www.pinzweb.at

Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed Apexmed
S
O
S

NOTFALL

Bei aktuell plötzlich aufgetretenen „akuten“ neurologischen Beschwerden ist der sofortige Transfer ins Krankenhaus indiziert!

Telefon der Rettung: 144

Nur im Krankenhaus stehen die notwendigen diagnostischen Möglichkeiten – insbesondere bezüglich Bildgebung – zur Verfügung.

Keine Zeit verlieren, denn: „Time is brain!“

Zudem empfiehlt es sich stets eine Liste mit folgenden wesentlichen Gesundheitsinformationen dabeizuhaben:
–  Vorerkrankungen
–  aktuelle Medikation
–  evtl. Allergien

Das spart im Notfall kostbare Zeit!

Videos

VON A BIS Z

Ablauf beim Arzt:

… eigentlich naheliegend … manchmal jedoch vielleicht auch voller Missverständnisse? Um hier Klarheit zu schaffen, wurde dieser Beitrag aufgenommen. Er informiert über die aufeinanderfolgenden Schritte beim Arzt – vergleichbar mit den Stufen einer Treppe …

Der aufrechte Gang:

Der Beitrag bietet einen Rückblick auf die Evolution und die Entstehung der Lebewesen samt ihrer Fortbewegungsarten: ohne Beine im Wasser (Fisch), ohne Beine an Land (Schlange), mit 4 Beinen an Land (Eidechse), mit 2 Beinen an Land (Mensch). Dazu sind Anpassungen bezüglich Gleichgewicht und Stützskelett notwendig sowie das Gewährleisten eines Spielbeins.

Donnerschlagskopfschmerz:

Der Beitrag behandelt den NOTFALL „Donnerschlagskopfschmerzen“, der bis zum Beweis des Gegenteils als Hinweis auf eine bestimmte Gehirnblutung, eine sog. „Subarachnoidalblutung“ (SAB), angesehen werden muss. Das Beschwerdespektrum kann sehr unterschiedlich sein: von „nur“ heftigen Kopfschmerzen bis zum Koma!!! Daher ist der rasche Kontakt zu einer Notfallambulanz notwendig, wo die entsprechende Diagnostik mittels Kopfbildgebung, Nervenwasserentnahme und ggf. Angiographie erfolgen wird. Als Ursache ist oft eine Gefäßschwachstelle, ein sog. „Aneurysma“ zu finden, welches im Verlauf entsprechend behandelt werden sollte. Im Video sind auch kurz verschiedene Aneurysma-Arten und deren Behandlungsoptionen (Clipping, Coiling, Stenting) skizziert.

Gangstörungen:

Die Serie Gangstörungen bespricht – gegliedert in 3 Teile – spielerisch verschiedene Störungen beim Gehen, darunter: Watschelgang, Schonungshinken, Parkinson-Gang, Steppergang, „Bügeleisengang“, Scherengang, ataktische Gangstörung, choreatische Gangstörung, psychogene Gangstörung, „Schaufensterkrankheit“, spinale Enge, und den unsicheren Gang.

Immunsystem – „Das kleine 1×1“:

Dieser Beitrag soll einen einfachen Überblick über dieses komplexe Thema geben. Er beinhaltet verständlich charakteristische Komponenten der zellulären und humoralen Abwehr sowie des unspezifischen und spezifischen Immunsystems; dazu gehören: Phagozyten, das Komplementsystem, die Antigen-präsentierenden Zellen (APC), die T- und B-Lymphozyten und die Antikörper.

Karpaltunnelsyndrom:

Eine häufige Ursache eines „Kribbeln in den Händen“ ist das Karpaltunnelsyndrom oder CTS. Gemäß der wörtlichen Übersetzung des lateinischen Namens handelt es sich dabei um: „nächtlich kribbelnde Armschmerzen“. Im Beitrag werden Ursache, Krankheitsphasen, Diagnostik und Therapiemöglichkeiten eines CTS erklärt.

Kopfschmerzen:

Grundlegende Komponenten einer Kopfschmerz-Behandlung sind Anamnese, neurologische Untersuchung und oftmals auch eine Kopfbildgebung. Dabei erfolgt die Einordnung verschiedener Kopfschmerz-Arten (bei meist unauffälligen Befunden in Untersuchung und Bildgebung) anhand sog. „Diagnostischer Kriterien“. Die eigenen Kopfschmerzen können zudem über das Führen eines Kopfschmerzkalenders besser „kennengelernt“ und individuell hilfreiche Maßnahmen leichter erkannt werden. Die Kopfschmerz-Therapie hat – allgemein gesprochen – 3 Säulen (akut-medikamentös, prophylaktisch-medikamentös, nicht-medikamentös), wobei es sich empfiehlt die „nicht-medikamentösen Maßnahmen“ möglichst auszuschöpfen. Außerdem ist das Krankheitsbild des „Medikamenten-Übergebrauchs-Kopfschmerzes“ wissenswert und Teil des Beitrags.

Kribbeln in den Füßen:

Der Beitrag gibt einen Überblick über die Komponenten die zu einem Kribbeln in den Füßen führen können. Anschließend werden neurologische Ursachen gegliedert.

Kribbeln in den Händen:

Der Beitrag gibt einen Überblick über die Komponenten die zu einem Kribbeln in den Händen führen können. Anschließend werden neurologische Ursachen gegliedert.

Lagerungsschwindel:

Im Beitrag „Lagerungsschwindel“ (ausführlich: „benigner paroxysmaler Lagerungsschwindel, BPLS“) wird der „Gleichgewichts-Teil“ des Vestibulo-Cochlear-Organs anhand dieser sehr häufigen Problematik näher erklärt. Das Auftreten einer kurz dauernden Drehschwindelattacke nach Umdrehen im Bett ist besonders charakteristisch für den BPLS, bei dem zu 95% der hintere Bogengang betroffen ist. Ursache des BPLS sind zusammengelagerte Otolithen, wobei ein solches Konglomerat einen sehr großen Reiz auf die Sinneshärchen ausübt und zur Schwindelempfindung führt. Abschließend wird im Beitrag auch die Therapie mittels Lagerungsübungen gezeigt und erklärt.

Meralgia paraesthetica:

… ist ein komplizierter Name für Beschwerden eines geklemmten Hautnervs im Bereich der seitlichen Becken-/Leistenband-Region. Es können Beschwerden im Bereich des seitlichen Oberschenkels auftreten. Die Thematik ist harmlos und hat eine sehr gute Prognose.

Migräne:

Es wird der „Prototyp“ einer Migräne mit den zugehörigen Diagnostischen Kriterien für Migräne-KOPFSCHMERZEN und für eine Migräne-AURA mitgeteilt. Darüber hinaus werden Einteilung, „Spielarten“, Handlungsoptionen (wie das Führen eines Kopfschmerzkalenders) und Therapieansätze angesprochen.

Movember:

„Movember“ ist eine der erfolgreichsten Aktionen zur Gesundheitsprävention, bei der sich Männer im Monat November einen Oberlippenbart wachsen lassen. Wo „Movember“ herkommt, welchen genauen Zweck es verfolgt und wie mein Zugang dazu war bzw. mein Umgang damit heute ist zeigt dieses Video. Aufgenommen wurde das Video im November 2020.

Nackenschmerzen:

Bei Nackenschmerzen mit Ausstrahlung in den Arm ist die Konsultation eines Neurologen sinnvoll. Dieser klärt mittels Anamnese und neurologischer Untersuchung, ob eine sog. Radikulopathie vorliegt. Ein Video kann natürlich einen Arztbesuch nicht ersetzen.

Neuronale Plastizität:

Der Beitrag wurde im Rahmen des DGN Kongresses 2016 in Mannheim gehalten. Er erklärt anschaulich das Zustandekommen von „neuronaler Plastizität“ durch zeitgleiche Aktivität von Nervenzellen. Dies ist an Veränderungen auf verschiedenen Ebenen ablesbar, wie beispielsweise am Verhalten eines Lebewesens (siehe Pawlow), an „Umbauvorgängen“ an bzw. Regulationen in Nervenzellen (siehe Kandel). Ich habe mich im Rahmen meiner naturwissenschaftlichen Doktorarbeit mit dem Thema befasst und fasse hier die für mich resultierenden Schlussfolgerungen und ihre Anwendung auf’s Leben zusammen.

Optische Phänomene:

Der Beitrag gibt einen Überblick über verschiedene optische Phänomene, darunter: Schattenspiele, Spiegelungen, unwirkliche Objekte, Vexierbilder, Bilder der Reihe „Magic Eye“, Flimmerkontraste und die Fraser’sche Spirale.

Polyneuropathie:

Das häufige Krankheitsbild „Polyneuropathie“ – oft beschrieben als „auf Wolken gehen“ – ist eine Schädigung mehrerer peripherer Nerven durch einen systemischen Prozess (oder mehrere). Es gibt dafür ca. 500 verschiedene Ursachen, wobei das Erkennen der jeweiligen Ursache(n) sinnvoll ist. Die beiden Teile widmen sich dem Beschwerdespektrum, der Diagnostik, der Ursachenforschung und den verschiedenen Therapieoptionen.

Restless legs Syndrom:

Der Beitrag beschreibt die Hauptkriterien des RLS und seine Abgrenzung zur ebenfalls häufigen Polyneuropathie.

Schlaf-Chronologie:

Wir verbringen gemeinsam eine unproblematische Nacht miteinander bzw. bereiten uns darauf vor. Der Beitrag beinhaltet Themen wie: Gähnen, Ruheritual, Einschlaftipps, die richtige Schlaftemperatur und -position, Lagewechsel, Tiefschlaf, die Tendenz aufzuwachen, die „Stunde des Wolfs“, morgendliche Träume und … das Aufstehen.

Schlaf-Fakten:

Der Beitrag „Schlaf-Fakten“ liefert verschiedene Erkenntnisse wie z.B. die „Entdeckung“ der inneren Uhr, Regulationsmechanismen im Schlaf und die verschiedenen Schlafstadien im EEG. Zudem werden verschiedene Schlafstrategien im Tierreich und kulturelle Unterschiede des Schlafs vorgestellt.

Schlaf-Probleme:

Wir durchleben gemeinsam eine problematische Nacht 🙁 … Der Beitrag beinhaltet verschiedene Schlaf-Beeinträchtigungen wie: Polyneuropathie (PNP), Restless Legs-Syndrom (RLS), Depression, Schnarchen, Jet Lag, Schlafwandeln, nächtliches Wasserlassen, Albträume, Parkinson-Erkrankung, Narkolepsie, Schmerzen und das Karpaltunnel-Syndrom (CTS), wobei es zu einigen Themen ausführlichere Spezial-Beiträge gibt.

Schwindel:

Dieser Beitrag gibt ein exemplarischen Überblick über das komplexe Thema. In seinen Zweiteilen werden unterschiedliche mögliche Schwindelursachen behandelt, darunter: Kreislauf & Durchblutung, Gehirnschädigung, Thematik VIII. Hirnnerv, Ohr, Auge, Gangunsicherheit, Psyche, höheres Lebensalter, Mix verschiedener Komponenten und die vestibuläre Migräne.

Sehstörungen:

Anhand verschiedener gestörter visueller Eindrücke werden notwendige Funktionen/Strukturen auf dem „Weg zum Bild“ spielerisch erarbeitet. Zu diesen Sehstörungen/Themen zählen: Schwarzes Bild, Flimmern, Zacken, Russregen & Co, Doppelbilder, Verschwommensehen, teils schwarzes Bild, Glaukom, trockene Augen und Halluzinationen.

Spannungskopfschmerzen:

Im Beitrag wird der „Prototyp“ von Spannungskopfschmerzen mit den zugehörigen Diagnostischen Kriterien mitgeteilt. Darüber hinaus werden Einteilung, Ursachen, Handlungsoptionen (wie das Führen eines Kopfschmerzkalenders) und Therapieansätze angesprochen.

Sulcus-ulnaris-Syndrom:

Beim Sulcus ulnaris-Syndrom wird der Ulnarisnerv in der sog. „Ulnarisrinne“ am Ellbogen gereizt oder gar geschädigt. Im Video werden Diagnostik und Therapie besprochen, die eine fachärztliche Mitbeurteilung nicht ersetzen können.

Vergesslichkeit:

Die Sorge vor einer Demenzerkrankung ist ab einem bestimmten Lebensalter sehr verbreitet und wird meist durch Vergesslichkeit im Alltag ausgelöst. Im Video werden alternative Gründe einer Vergesslichkeit, wie beispielsweise die Depression (= Pseudodemenz) genannt sowie klinische Unterschiede der verschiedenen cerebralen Schädigungsmuster (kortikale vs. subkortikale Schädigung) beschrieben. Die Diagnosestellung einer Demenz ist eine fachärztliche Einschätzung unter Zuhilfenahme von Zusatzdiagnostik. Im Beitrag werden die wesentlichen diagnostische Komponenten, bestehend aus Anamnese, Fremdanamnese, neuropsychologischer Testung und Kopfbildgebung sowie der aktuelle Stand der Therapiemöglichkeiten bei einer dementiellen Erkrankung erklärt. In Rahmen der Diagnostik kann mitunter auch eine unbegründete Sorge aus der Welt geschafft oder alternative Erkrankungen aufgedeckt werden, die evtl. gut behandelbar sind. Meine persönliche Einschätzung zum Umgang mit einer beginnenden dementiellen Symptomatik im Rentenalter runden den Vortrag ab. Ein Video kann den Besuch beim Arzt und die individuelle Beratung natürlich nicht ersetzen.

APEXMED ®
Telefon: +43-662-634 634
Fax: +43-662-634 634-4
E-Mail: info@apexmed.at
Ordinationszeiten

09 - 15 h


Alternative Termine möglich.Telefonische Vereinbarung notwendig.

www.pinzweb.at